You Don’t Know What You Don’t Know

The final project for my first official intensive Arabic course is a 7 minute presentation on any subject matter.

Disclaimer: I was unable to form a full sentence 5 weeks ago, so this is a really big deal for me. 

Now, I’m a Virgo so I can’t decide what to eat for lunch every day let alone a topic to speak in Arabic non-stop in front of other humans…

But I realized that I had spoken to a friend of mine (shoutout to Lameese ♥) the night before on the frustrations of being an Arab American trying to learn Arabic… in Arabic.

*cue fireworks*

I thought back to that conversation and tried to gather my thoughts into a few bullets that would guide my presentation and soon began to realize a few things:

…I have a newfound (HUGE) respect for those who learn new languages, especially those without the intention to do so.

…a few weeks of intensive courses is better than nothing, regardless of what I decide to do in the future.

…just as blogging has formulated my abstract and jumbled thoughts into coherent opinions, learning Arabic has illuminated critical practices that need to be exercised when specifically learning a language.

Some of these may seem obvious, but you don’t truly grasp the gravity they emit until you’re in a situation when they can be applied.

And so I am proud to present…

Lina’s Language Learning Tenets

1. Patience & Practice

Patience with the language. Patience with others.

Patience with yourself.

It’s not going to happen overnight so forget the haters who correct you unnecessarily and laugh at your mistakes.

Forget the voice in your head calling the girl with Arab roots and no Arab tongue a failure.

Forget the fools who feel sorry that you never picked it up as a kid, be patient and keep practicing…

Practice with family. Practice with friends. Practice with the taxi driver, the baker, even the nitwits who whistle and honk their horns on the streets…

You have no idea how quickly you’re progressing.

2. Take a Step Back and Translate Directly

People say things get lost in translation and it’s true. Every language has its own nuances and subtle ways of expressing feelings that can’t be done in any other language.

It’s beautiful but calm down.

You don’t need to speak like the locals right now. It’s okay to translate directly from your mother tongue. It’s not going to sound right and people will correct you because it “doesn’t quite make sense.”

…Bro, you understood me.

So do what you can with what you know and with time, as you build your vocabulary, you’ll start to notice better words for different situations.

And one day, when you least expect it, that idiomatic expression all of a sudden clicks and you can’t stop using it. The jokes are funnier and recalling a specific response happens instantaneously. The subtleties reveal themselves, everything makes sense, and you can’t believe it’s all flowing.

*angels singing from above*

(Pst: Those soap operas help speed up this process.)

3. You Don’t Know What You Don’t Know

I began taking Spanish in a classroom setting at a much younger age so this one didn’t quite click or resonate with me as I picked up that language.

With Arabic however, I always knew there were words missing from my vocabulary although I’ve been hearing it at home my entire life, but I always just assumed that the majority of them were hiding in my head somewhere and when I finally immersed myself they’d reveal themselves.

False.

It’s absolutely incredible how within just the first couple of classes I started to hear new vocabulary everywhere I went; On the streets, on the radio and on television, in conversations with my grandma over Viber…

I started to realize that these words didn’t just all of a sudden drop out of the sky conveniently after each lesson. The people I interact with didn’t just decide to use them because I began building a vocabulary in class.

They’ve been using these words all my life and I didn’t even notice.

…Or rather I chose not to.

This got me thinking.

As humans, we are instinctively much more comfortable with what we know. We don’t naturally like change… The unknown is scary.

I’ve kind of learned that lesson already, hence me packing my bags and moving to Amman this summer, but it’s hitting me in a whole new way. I’ve been hearing things my whole life and had no idea what any of it meant…

I was more comfortable recognizing the few words I already knew and getting away with understanding the general idea of what was being spoken and never took a step back to break down each sentence. I basically had no idea what I didn’t know.

And now that my vocabulary is slowly growing and I’m forcing myself to translate and conjugate and formulate sentences, a whole new world is opening up.

And it’s an absolutely stunning new world.

So to continue on discovering this new world via the Arabic language, I’ve decided to personally translate my blog posts into Arabic.

It’s going to be wonderfully elementary and messy, and that’s the point. It’ll be good practice and a great way to track my progress.

I’m going to get a second pair of eyes before posting to make sure the grammar I have learned thus far is being executed correctly but other than that… get ready to see me even more vulnerable.

*grinning emoji*


قبل ما انتهيت من صفي العربي الأول كان عندي تقديم لسبعة دقائق عن أي موضوع باللغة العربية.

ما كنت استطيع أن اكتب جملة بدون خطأ منذ خمسة أسابيع، فهذا التمرين كان صعب جداً.

ما كنت اعرف كيف سأقرر المودوع للتقديم لاني أيضاً عندي مشاكل في القرارات في الأكل كل يوم.

لكن تذكرت الكلام مع صديقتي (شكراً لميس ) في الليل الماضي عن الصعوبات التي يجربها العرب الامريكيين لما يتعلمون اللغة العربيةبالعربي.

فقررت الموضوع و فكرت كيف سأعمل التقديم و كان عندي أفكار عن ترجبتي هذا الصيف:

الآن عندي احترام جديد للناس يتعلمون لغات جديدة، خصوصا الناس الذين لا يريدون.

…أسابيع قليلة احسن من لا شيء.

…و الدراسة العربية علمتني عن دروس مهمة لما تدرس اللغات.

بعض الدروس ليست جديدة لكن كتير مهمة في الوقت نفسه.

فالآن انا مبصوطة جداً على التقديم

دروس لينا لتعلم اللغات

١. الصبر و الممارسة

صبر مع اللغة. صبر مع الناس.

صبر مع نفسك.

لن يكون بعد ليل واحد فانسى الاشخاص الذين يصححون لك و يضحكون عليك.

انسى الصوت في رأسك الذي يقول أنك فاشل من أصل عربي بدون اللغة العربية.

انسى الاشخاس الذين يشعرون بالأسف لأنك ما تعلمت اللغة في طفولتك و تكون صبور و تمارس

تمارس مع العائلة. تمارس مع الأصحاب. تمارس مع السائق تاكسي، الخباز، و حتى المجنين في الشارع

لا تعرف كم تتعلم بسرعة.

٢. قف و تترجم من لغتك الأم

الناس يقولون إنه الأشياء فقدت في الترجمة و هذا صحيح. كل لغة فيها أشياء خاصة للمشاعر.

هذا جميلة جداً لكن تسترح.

ليس من اللازم أن تتكلم مثل أبناء البلد الآن. ليس هناك مشكلة إذا تترجم من لغتك الأم. لن يكون في أحسن الأحوال واشخاص سيصححون لك لأنك لا تستخدم أحسن طريق في العربي.

يا زَلَمِة، فَهِمْتْ عَليْ.

فتفعل ما تستطيع و مع الوقت و مفرداتك الجديدة ستستخدم أحسن كلمات حسب الوضع.

و يوم واحد كل شيء سأتي مع بعض و ستفهم كل الأقوال و لن تستطيع تتوقف عن استخدمها.

(المسلسلات تساعد كثيرا.)

٣. لا تعرف ما لا تعرفه

أخدت أسباني في صف في طفولتي فما أدركت الدرس عن المعرفة.

عائلتي كانت تتكلم بالعربي كل حياتي فأنا دائماً عرفت إنه كان هناك كلمات ليس موجدة في مفرداتي لكن فكرت إذا جربت أن اتكلم بالعربي ساتذكر كل الكلمات التي انسيتها.

غلط.

بعد الصفوف الأولى أنا بدأت اسمع كلمات جديدة في كل مكان؛ في الشوارع، في الراديو والتلفيزيون، في الكلام مع جدتي بالviber…

بدأت أدرك أن هذه الكلمات ما نزلت من السماء بعد صفوفي. الناس الذين تكلمت معهم ما قرروا أن يستخدموها لانني بدأت اتعلم اللغة العربية.

أنا فقط ما لاحظت.

…أو ما كنت أريد.

فبدأت أفكر.

كالناس، نحب الأشياء التي نعرفها. ما نحب التغير. نخاف من الأشياء غير المعروفة.

علمت هذا الدرس قبل لأني هنا في عمان لكن ليس لهذه الدرجة.

كنت مريحة فهم فقط الموضع و ابداً وقف أن أفهم عن كل الكلمات في كل الجمل. لا عرفت ما عرفته.

لكن الآن اتعلم كلمات جديدة و مع الترجمة و التسريف و هذا فتح لي عالم جديد.

عالم جميل جداً.

فالآن انا سأترجم كل كتابتي إلى العربي.

هذا اول واحد

e19a14b5138064954e33e47409cbfc11

This post is dedicated to all the Arabs in the Diaspora picking up or who want to pick up the Arabic language.

I know your struggle and I want YOU to know that if I can do it, you can too ♥

7 thoughts on “You Don’t Know What You Don’t Know

  1. Rosana says:

    Lina, this is a wonderful idea. You are really an inspiration to those who are thinking of taking on a new challenge. Like Dory says, “sigue nadando” 🐠

    Liked by 1 person

  2. andreahaidar says:

    So many of these reflections resonated with me. There are definitely particular challenges to learning a language as a “should-be” heritage speaker. But it also adds so much richness to the learning experience, I think 🙂 Thanks for sharing your wisdom. Keep it up! Can’t wait to read the next post.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Majd says:

    حبيبتي لينا،اهنئك علي شجاعتك و إصرارك. فخورة فيك جدا ل شغفك تعلم اللغه ألعربيه و حب الوطن. انت مثال يحتذي به ل يوسف واحمد. 😘

    اشتقنا لك وإنشالله نراك قريبا.
    الان فيك تتفرجي علي مسلسل المناهل و حارة ابو عوّاد 😝

    Liked by 1 person

  4. May Barqawi says:

    So inspiring Lina😍 You remind me by Dad (الله يرحموا ) “If there is a well,there is way”! Lots of love and respect 💞

    Like

Leave a Reply

